The Mills County Historical Museum is located in the city of Glenwood, Iowa, near Glenwood Lake Park. Owned and operated by the Mills County Historical Society, the museum was founded in 1959. The Mills County Historical Museum is made up of a main building as well as several historical buildings available for touring.
Some of the buildings include the Peg Barn, Jail & Outhouse where their original structures were torn down but rebuilt on museum property. The original Country School House that was built in 1881 just outside of Glenwood, Iowa was moved to the museum’s site in the early 1960’s. A peek inside will display a tableau of historically authentic artifacts used in country schools.
The biggest attractions at the Machinery Hall are without a doubt the classic cars, old trucks, and tractors of time gone by. Last but not least is the caboose display where train enthusiasts will fawn over the antique memorabilia used on the railroads of history.
The main building itself is two stories tall and contains the largest prehistoric Native American artifacts in the whole state of Iowa. Early Iowan pioneer life artifacts have also been carefully preserved and put on display. Other collections include a variety of military displays, special toys displays, camera displays, and specialty shop displays.
Mills County Historical Society Reservations and Information:
2 Lake Drive, Glenwood, Iowa 51534, United States