Bauvais-Amoureux House

The Bauvais-Amoureux House was built in 1792 by Jean Baptiste St. Gemme Bauvais, Jr. It was built using the method of construction called poteaux-en-terre with bousillage fill between the logs, quite common in 18th century Ste. Genevieve. The vertical log walls, made of cedar, were set directly into the earth, without a foundation. This remarkable architectural remnant of the colonial period is now part of the National Park Service and is open seasonally for touring.

In 1852, the home was sold to Benjamin C. Amoureux for $700 and was then owned by successive generations of his family. In 1830 Benjamin Amoureux had married Pelagie, a slave belonging to Vital St. Gemme Beauvais, brother of the builder. She was later freed, and by 1850 the federal census listed Pelagie as head of the household. For more information on Pelagie go to www.AmHouse.org.

Contact Information

Chris Collins
Reservations and Information:
573.880.7189

Address:
335 Saint Marys Rd, Sainte Genevieve, Missouri 63670, United States

Visit Website >

Location

Other Information

  • Hours Open

    Contact for tours and hours
  • Seasons Open

    Open Seasonally
  • Prices and Fees

    free
  • Accessibility

    Short flight of stairs to enter
  • Pet Friendly Notes

    No pets allowed