St. Nicholas Landmark
The St. Nicholas Landmark sits just down river from the confluence of the Mississippi and Kaskaskia Rivers, where On November 27, 1803, Meriwether Lewis, William Clark and their party camped on Horse Island. The next morning, Lewis left them to travel by land. Clark and the men pushed on to Kaskaskia via the Mississippi River. In Kaskaskia, a frontier village of about 500 at that time, they recruited 12 additional soldiers, acquired a 3rd boat, and hired on Francois Labiche, a French / Omaha Tribe expert boatman and interpreter who would become a valuable member of the expedition.
Not many years later, the town of Chester (originally Smith’s Landing) began to grow up on the Illinois side of the river. Thomas Mather, a passionate abolitionist and leader in the early government of Illinois, built a commercial building on the riverfront in 1830. The site would serve many purposes over the next 190 years, and today it remains as one of the last pieces of the early river history in the region. The building undertook an extensive renovation and restoration in 2018, and today the St. Nicholas Landmark offers upscale pub favorites, amazing entrees and specials, and fresh, local craft beer brewed at its sister location, the St. Nicholas Brewing Co., in nearby Du Quoin, Illinois. Cycling enthusiasts will especially appreciate the bicycle décor and theme (right down to the names of the beers).
The St. Nicholas Landmark is the perfect spot to stop in for a great lunch or dinner, enjoy a craft beer or cocktail, and soak up the amazing view and rich history of this part of the Mississippi River.