Phoenix Hotel (Switzerland County’s Visitors Center)
Home of the Switzerland County Tourism office, this property dates back to the early 1800s. The first deed was between John F. Dufour, one of Switzerland County’s original settlers, to James C. Morsell and Wm. K. Lambdin in 1818. It has housed 3 hotels and a pharmacy during its lifetime, and became known as the Phoenix Hotel in 1898, after having risen from the ashes after a fire. The accompanying carriage house was renovated and is now owned by a private owner. Stop in to visit our reception area, complete with tourist literature, see exhibits from our local museums, artwork from local artists, and the gift shop.