The history of the Garfield County Museum begins in 1945 when school teacher Mary R. Liggett donated $5,000 to the Pioneer Association to build a museum and fireproof storage for historical record, relics, and documents. After more than 30 years of community efforts and donations, the museum opened in 1977. Today, it is filled with antiques and other rotating exhibits donated directly from the people of Garfield County, making the displays unique to the small town they are housed in. The quilt and license plate collections are two of the most popular exhibits. Visitors can tour the museum on summer weekdays from 1p.m. to 5 p.m., on Fridays in the fall, or any time of year by appointment.
Garfield County Museum Reservations and Information:
708 Columbia Street, Pomeroy, Washington 99347, United States