Cottonwood Beach at Captain William Clark Park

On March 31, 1806, Meriwether Lewis and William Clark established a camp at Cottonwood Beach while they secured provisions for the return trip through the Columbia River Gorge.
They remained at Cottonwood Beach for six days, which is the longest period of time the Corps of Discovery camped at any site in Clark County.

Almost 200 years later, a multijurisdictional effort celebrated the Lewis and Clark Bicentennial in 2006 by opening Captain William Clark Regional Park at Cottonwood Beach.
In addition to the existing water access at Cottonwood Beach, the 93-acre park also features multiuse trails, restrooms, historic interpretive elements, picnic shelters and parking lots.

Contact Information

Clark County Parks
Reservations and Information:

3333 South Index Street, Washougal, Washington 98671, United States

Visit Website >


Other Information

  • Seasons Open

    Cottonwood Beach is accessible nearly all year, however some winter months when the Columbia River is at its highest, it may flood portions of the beach and lower trail area.
  • Prices and Fees