During the late 1930s the Civilian Conservation Corps worked 5 years to develop Montana's first state park, Lewis & Clark Caverns. Starting with the first ever building in the system (a rock latrine which still stands at the Upper Picnic Area), the CCC built the 3 mile road to include a Granite Keystone Bridge, the Cave Visitor Center, the trails to and from the cave as well as the basics for today's caverns tours. An 538' long exit tunnel was blasted in 1938 to make the tour a one-way route that would include the CCC-discoveredd, largest room they named Paradise.
This park CCC District is currently being nominated for the National Register of Historic Places.
9:00am - 5:00pm May- September; Hike In only thereafter
Time Period Represented
May - September; Hike In only thereafter
Free to MT residents and registered campers; $6/vehicle entrance fee for non-residents
The CCC visitor center is accessible to all. The rock latrine, granite bridge and the Classic Tour portion of the caverns are moderately difficult to access - thought the latrine and bridge are just a short distance from the road. The Paradise Room with the 538' tunnel are wheelchair accessible but times are limited for that tour.
Pet Friendly Notes
Pets are allowed to all the CCC sites except the caverns. Kennels are offered free of charge for the time a visitor is taking a cave tour. Check out this amenity as you purchase tickets at the ticket booth.